SianL - Venlafaxine withdrawal

Hi all 👋

I came across this site from a Youtube video made by Russell B where he talks about his experience of coming off Psych drugs. 

My background is that I grew up with pretty serious childhood trauma, but I was still a very happy and resilient child growing up. In fact, I never experienced depression until I relocated to Germany in 2010 (24yrs). I got married, relocated and stopped working all at once, plus I  moved from a Southern Hemisphere country with sunshine 90% of the time to a very bleak part of Germany (with the British army) where I remember counting 3 full weeks of overcast days in a row. 

I returned to Africa, got divorced and re-started my career again but I had this lingering mental illness from my time away from home. I did the responsible thing and went to see a Psychiatrist who promptly (and I mean PROMPTLY in about 20 minutes), diagnosed me with Generalized Anxiety Disorder with Associated Depression and put me onto Venlor. There was no real question about the fact that my childhood trauma was now manifesting and I was stuck with this illness the rest of my life. (pretty debilitating news tbh) ☠️

Nonetheless, it made me better in the short term (I started eating and functioning again without crying every few minutes). So I just accepted it. I never took the full dose though and I refused other medications (300mg & Wellbutrin, etc). I wanted to take as little as possible. 

From 2012 to 2022 I tried to get off this medication at least twice (Venlaflaxine/Venlor/Effexor, whatever), but the withdrawal was so incredible that I could never function in normal life. All the Pharmacists said 'if its working why stop'. All GP's and my psychiatrist. Never once did anyone tell me that you shouldn't really be taking these meds for more than 6-12 months. And I didn't have unlimited funds to see multiple doctors, so I trusted who I did speak to.