JackBiscuit1: Help for how to naturally manage withdrawal symptoms

JackBiscuit1

Quick summary;

53 year old perimenopause women. 

I have been weaning off 2 medications for 18 months. 

Have weaned off small amount of diazepam, this took 15 months and I stopped in Feb 24 (hooray)

Have also been weaning off 11mg of Mirtazapine for over a year, started at 11mg, final dose was 0.6mg, I couldn't get the scales to weigh any less and this was my last drop, 12 days ago. 

I struggled all the way through the process, anxiety, nausea and a variety of other weird symptoms but I was never sure what was causing what. 

After 3 days of completely stopping (even though I tapered slowly) I started to get a spike in symptoms, they are unbearable; Anxiety, restlessness/shaky, severe nausea, dizziness, fatigue, struggling with sleep. 

I don't feel able to speak to GP as they probably won't even acknowledge it's withdrawal. 

Any advice on how to manage/minimise symptoms? They are disabling me and i'm struggling to get hour to hour. 

Any help appreciated? Thank you 

Sept 2022 - Propranolol 40mg, approx 8 days only, abrupt withdrawal led me take;

Diazepam 2.5mg Sept 2022, took for around 5-6 weeks, then very slowly tapered off, finishing February 2024

Mirtazapine 15mg, Sept 2022, tapered down, last dose 0.6mg 24 May 2024

• Erimus changed the title to JackBiscuit1: Help for how to naturally manage withdrawal symptoms

Hi @JackBiscuit1

Welcome to SA,

I'm sorry you've found yourself in this position. These drugs are so much stronger than we are led to believe for sure. 

What was your rate of taper? Have you considered reinstating? Reinstating and Stabilizing

See thread above. If you were to consider reinstating, you could try using a liquid preparation. Alternatively, if you feel you want to ride it out, you might check out the Symptoms and Self-care thread.

Please let us know if reinstating is something you'd like to try, or if you have more questions.