Putacatonit: Coming off Effexor

putacatonit

Hi all. I’ve been lurking here for a while but thought I’d post finally. I’ve been tapering from 300mg Effexor/Venlafaxine since July 2023. I’ve been on Effexor for 11 years, iirc. Before that I was on Paxil since age 9.

I got down to 100mg Effexor in May and made the (regrettable) decision to try to bridge with Prozac due to increasing intrusive thoughts and OCD symptoms. 

After 2 weeks on 10mg Prozac I was hit with terrible anxiety, so I stopped the Prozac immediately on June 9, and then got hit with what seemed like Effexor withdrawal. I went up to 150mg Effexor to stabilize - and felt better within 90 minutes of the additional dose - and I’m currently holding. 

I’ve been having windows and waves the past month. Right now I’m very activated when I wake up: anxiety, adrenaline, rapid thoughts and diarrhea.

I think this might be Prozac withdrawal since it has such a long half life? Not sure. Fortunately I’m stable enough to still function but this feels never ending. 

1998?-2012 Paxil - 10-30mg (started when I was 9 years old)

2012 - Lexapro - two weeks as a bridge for getting off Paxil, failed miserably

2012-2019 - Effexor - 225mg

April 2019-July 2023 - Effexor - 300mg

July 2023 - began tapering off of Effexor

May 2024 - tapered down to 100mg of Effexor

May-June 2024 - 10mg Prozac as a bridge - CT’d after bad reaction after 2 weeks of taking it

Present - Effexor - 150mg - holding for now

Current supplements: myoinositol, omega-3, vitamin D, magnesium glycinate, Berberine, l-theanine, ashgawanda

• LotusRising changed the title to Putacatonit: Coming off Effexor

Hi @putacatonit,

Welcome to SA,

2 hours ago, putacatonit said:

I think this might be Prozac withdrawal since it has such a long half life? Not sure. Fortunately I’m stable enough to still function but this feels never ending.