Hi all,

I have been lurking around this forum for some time now :) 

I am presently attempting my 5th withdrawal from psychiatric drugs in 3.5 years. 

In March of 2012 I was taken by my friend/housemate (who coincidentally is a doctor who was doing a placement in a psych ward at the time), to the emergency room as I was presenting with symptoms of mania.  I had been up for days drinking, barely sleeping or eating.  Not surprisingly, I was pacing and chain smoking. 

By 2012, I had been drinking alcoholically for 5 years getting progressively worse, to the point that in 2013 I would binge drink for a month on and one off, drinking up to 3 bottles of wine throughout the day.  I had already attended AA meetings at the time and my family, close friends, and I, were well aware that I had a drinking problem.

However, my friend, who meant well, must have been very concerned and wanted to help me in the best way she knew how, by taking me to see her colleagues where I was tentatively diagnosed as Bipolar II, mixed state, rapid cycling, and put onto 10mg of Zyprexa.  

After this first hospitalisation, my drinking got worse and worse and I was hospitalised 12 more times (about once a month) that year. 

In May 2012, I entered my first open ward psych hospital and stayed for two weeks (still working as an actor and a theatre critic during the two weeks as I was able to leave the facility).  I became more involved with AA but was too unstable to really engage with the program.  I was drunk more than I was sober and by then, I was on Lithium as well, with a solid diagnosis of bipolar and alcohol dependence.  I was put on Naltrexone to help me stop drinking too.  

In December of that year I emerged from a drinking binge on Christmas day and had to go to hospital to detox on Valium.  After 2 days, I snuck out, got drunk and was luckily found by my family across the street in blackout, taken back to emergency, where I fell into a coma and had to be resuscitated.