Otter: requisite introduction

Otter

Hello,

I stumbled on this site as I was searching for information about alternative tapers to the very slow taper advised by my internal medicine doc. I'm a woman in my mid thirties, mother of two boys (one of whom has autism). I am in a doctoral program studying the behavioral determinants of health after switching careers in my early 30s (I have a master's degree in psychology and was previously a social worker, but my temperament and personal struggles make working in that field too difficult for me).

I began antidepressant therapy when I was 19 years old, and since that time I have been on (either alone or in combination) the following medications: Wellbutrin, Lexapro, Amytriptaline, Buspar, lorazepam, diazepam, clonazepam, Abilify, Depakote, Prozac, Atarax and Sertraline. I have also been prescribed sleeping medications in the past (ambien, sonata), and Gapabentin/Neurontin, off label for "nonmigraine pain" and also off label for PTSD.

I've gone on hiatuses from medication for as long as 6 years (mainly during pregnancy and while breastfeeding, although I was able to read the research related to plasma transfer of sertraline into human milk and was satisfied that the concentrations were low enough to not potentially pose a problem to my then 18 month old son.

I went into care at a psychiatric clinic affiliated with the medical system of my university (because I have no copays there with my insurance of course), and experienced increasing pressure to add additional meds to address the breakthrough anxiety and depression I was experiencing while on 200mg sertraline, and was compelled (by the fact that I do research for a living) to look through the FDA Access database to read the original research that was submitted with the FDA application. This eventually led me into the concept of Tardive Dysphoria, which I believe wasn't mentioned in the literature until 2011?