philjot on Lexapro for Paxil withdrawal

philjot

Dear all in survAD land.  I am new here and am currently on Lexapro 17.5mg and was previously on Paxil 20mg for 13 yrs - then I tapered to quickly and it left me in a bad depression around Jan 2013.  Tried reinstitution of Paxil to no avail and then was switched to Lexapro to no avail.  So I am not better and not stable - but alive.  Also on some Ativan 2mg per day for anxiety which seems to come form Lexapro (who knows).  I am wondering how important it is to get "stable" on something before I withdraw very very slowly from the Lexapro?  I mean, I am a pharmacist ( a PharmD) you would think I would know better.  Now they want to put me on Venlafaxine and/or lamictal.  Seems like the meds they want to use never end (or they said - hey try ECT - it is amazingly effective - right)  So anyway what do you colleagues of mine in the AD Hell say makes the most sense.  Just live with the depression and wean from Lexapro very, very slowly.  Wean from benzo first? and then Lexapro?  Any advice is helpful to me.  By the way, we should have a retreat for those who are interested so we can come and be together and get to know each other as we struggle through this hell.

Philjot

philjot

Jan 2001: 20mg per day of Paxil
No libido and anhedonia
July 2012: 15 mg Paxil for 2 wk; 
Jul 15 2012: then 10mg Paxil, 
Aug 2012; Paxil 7.5mg for 2 wk,
Aug 15, 2012: Paxil 5mg for 2 wk
Sept 2012: 2.5mg for a wk, 
Sept 7, 2012 off of Paxil
Sept 2012 to Early Jan 2013. off Paxil for 3.5 mos 
Dec 20, 2012 – Depression/anxiety
Jan 2013: Paxil 20mg at night, Ativan for anxiety 1.5mg to 2mg daily
Feb 2013: 15mg Paxil at night - failed
Back to 20mg Paxil; with little if any benefit.