kittyeyes: Did I screw up with my Lexapro?

kittyeyes13

I have anxiety, panic attacks and ocd. It runs in my family and I was put on lexapro in 2008 when I was diagnosed with MS. I had a horrible bout of anxiety and attacks due to major MS flare. I had to be hospitalized and and put on lots of iv steroids to get better. So I could not tell after being home and recovering if the lexapro was making me have all the horrible side effects cause I felt so terrible anyway coming down from all the steroids I had to have and was trying to come to terms with my new diagnosis and way of life my anxiety was terrible. 

I ended up recovering. Doing well with my MS and lexapro ended up doing the trick for me and I have been doing so well on it since starting in 2008. But I do always still have a little more anxiety and depression before my period and had gained quite a bit of weight. 

So, I decided to taper off lexapro to see if I still needed it and if I could lose some weight and went on a long safe taper under my doctor. Well, after getting clear down to 5mg every other day and to stop the 12th of July, my side effects were not horrible, but I could feel the anxiety creeping back in and had a couple panic attacks so I decided it's not worth it and to stay on the lexapro. So I talked to my doc about it and he told me to just go back up to the 20mg. Well, I was too scared to do that, so I went back up to 10mg for a couple weeks then back on the 20mg on July 30th. The very night I took the 20 I had instant panic attacks that lasted all night! I could not get myself calmed down. It was like my brain went into shock! I was up all night mabey sleeping in 10-15 min intervals and waking in a panic. I also have 0.5 mg of klonopin as needed and I take 5mg as needed for ambien for sleep, and I took my klonopin and it seemed to take forever for it to kick in for me that night.