Nurses talk about odd physical symptoms.

pocketnurse

Hi all.

I am after some advice or feedback if possible.

I have been undertaking a slow taper from 10mgs Lexapro (Cipralex in UK) for nearly two years. I have done this slow taper due to two previous failed attempts with Sertraline. I have been on one SSRI or another for the last 15 years or so.

What doesn't help my situation is that I am a nurse and despite all the issues I have had before with tapering I still struggle to come to terms with the fact that most of my symptoms are drug related rather than some other awful ailment. The more I research I do about the dreadful effects of these drugs the more convinced of the dangers of them I become however, on a regular basis in the practice where I work I am up against GP's who still dish them out and have no idea re the consequences of doing so and still give crap advice to patients to withdraw. A number of patients have been investigated for illnesses that are no doubt withdrawal reactions and I find it hard not to get involved but sometimes I find it equally hard to believe that my symptoms ARE withdrawal.

Currently I am have major stomach issues with pain and bloating, I have over the last couple of days started to experience feeling shaky, really a kind of anxiety feeling with a rapid strong feeling heart rate I suppose like an adrenaline rush which makes my tummy worse. I feel cold with this anxious feeling too. My mood is very low and I also feeling exhausted all the time which doesn't help when I have to work full time. I just want to sleep to block out how I am feeling as I have convinced myself that I have colon cancer or something terrible.

Throughout my taper I have had intense muscle pain, tiredness not resolved by sleep, episodes of balance/ dizziness and raging bad temper.

Is it normal for these new symptoms to pop up so long in to my taper?