SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

IHadPassion

IHadPassion

Irresponsible psychiatry has cost me nearly everything I had.

It's been a year since I rapidly tapered off of Paxil (20mg) augmented with Adderall (20mg), both of which I was on because I had developed a physical dependence to Ativan which I had been prescribed for social and relationship anxiety. I had never suffered depression or suicidal ideations prior to taking the SSRI/Amphet combo.  But let's back up even further.  I was a Naval Officer, with two graduate degrees in engineering from a prestigious engineering school in Cambridge, MA.  A published author, athlete, outdoor enthusiast, etc.  I had anxiety as a kid, but always got over it and managed to deal with the obsessive thoughts.  I had passion for my job and my life.  

Fast forward to today...I've since had to leave active duty, have lost my civilian job, spent a week in a psychiatric institution, suffer unimaginable tension headaches, suicidal ideations, speech difficulties, memory issues, and most days am not able to get out of bed.  I currently see a psychologist, and have refused to get back on an SSRI, which is what numerous psychiatrists have recommended.  I'm currently being considered for TMS treatment.

I'm seeking others who have been on both an SSRI and psycho stimulant for a period of time at the prescription of their doctor and what their experience has been.  I believe I suffered mild, sub-clinical serotonin toxicity while on the two drugs and at this point have little faith that my brain will heal and return to its original state.

Thanks for the support.

Year 0:      Social anxiety, obsessive thoughts, NO depression, NO suicidal ideations

Years 1-2: Ativan (benzo) <1mg as needed, not abused but developed physical dependence

Years 2-3: Paxil (20mg) augmented with Adderall XR (10-20mg) due to withdrawal from Ativan