ChangingwithChat: Lexapro Withdrawl has me feeling some kind of crazy!

ChangingwithChat

Hi friends. I have been tapering off of Lexapro for about 8 months. I did ok until I got down to 5mg. After 3 weeks of being on 5mg I started getting very tired and then became very very depressed. My doctor switched me to 100 mg of Wellbutrin from the 5mg of Lexapro because she thought it would be easier to eventually come off of.  I have been experiencing a lot of withdrawl symptoms from Lexapro even though I am Wellbutrin. I suppose because I don't have the Seratonin.

One symptom that I have experienced scares me the most. It gives me an immense amount of anxiety. Initially it started as tingling in my neck and legs, mostly in my left. I also occasionally would get it below my ears. Then my left calf seemed to hurt and feel very tight along with the tingling. Now, It seems to mostly be in my left foot. The last few days My foot has almost felt disconnected from my leg and I feel electrical sensations/tingling. This is the most disturbing sensation because I don't even know how to explain what I am feeling. I don't know if it feels week, or numb, or what. The only way I can explain it is disconnected.

I have been seeing an accupuncturist and it seems like the sensations have been changing/improving from the treatment. The accupuncturist said that its a good sign that my body is trying to heal. I am wondering if anyone else has felt these sensations. I have read about the "brain zaps" and I am wondering if that is what this is? Can they manifest this way? I am trying not to read on the internet because I get even more scared. If someone could help I would be ever so grateful. I am feeling so desperate. 

Edited by KarenB
added paragraph breaks

hi Changingwithchat,

Welcome!

I'm so sorry you are going through all these too!