JulieL: Quiting Cymbalta

JulieL

Hi, this is my first time posting to the group.  I found this chain because it mentions being tearful.  I have been on Cymbalta 60mg for a little over a year and am feeling better so I have started tapering.  I did 1 month at 30mg and then dropped to 0mg a few days ago.  Now I have a little less energy and I am VERY tearful.  I'm very liberal (almost always vote Democrat) and I cried during Marco Rubio's concession speech yesterday!  That is unheard of! 

I have a phone call w/ my Psychiatrist today.  I am really not feeling sad, just teary.  Does that make sense?  Do other people feel that way? 

Also, perhaps I should try going from 30 to 20, since I do think there is a 20 capsule also.  Any thoughts or comments are appreciated! 

Hi Julie-- welcome to the group.  I started a new thread for you in the introduction forum so your questions wouldn't get over looked.  This will be your journal where you can keep notes, ask questions, communicate with your new friends, rant, rave and complain.

I'm so glad you found us, we will really be able to help.  The tearfulness you're feeling is due to coming off of the Cymbalta way too fast. Although it was a really good speech.  We have found that tapering 10% of your previous dose is the best way to minimize WD symptoms.  Here ae some links that will help explain what is going on:

What is withdrawal syndrome?

Why taper by 10% of my dosage?

About reinstating and stabilizing to reduce withdrawal symptoms

Tips for tapering off Cymbalta (duloxetine)

That will get you started, give those a read and then ask us a ton of questions.

If you would please add a signature block it would really help us to help you.

Please put your withdrawal history in your signature