Meowmeoww: Need some informative answers - Zoloft

Meowmeoww

Hello,

I'm currently taking half of 12.5mg zoloft which is a little over 6mg. I'm researching on tapperimg and read the page about the 10% rule. Id like to have a solid plan but I'm not really good at math and wanted to ask about the dosages and the time. Can someone let me know how to calculate all that? I tried to wean off before without knowing about the 10% rule and had hard time..so I want to do it right this time when I'm ready. Also my doc said that there's a liquid for of zoloft which may be an option if it's gonna make this easier because right now the pill I'm splitting is tiny and no way I know how many mg I would be taking if I start cutting it to smaller pieces.

Also one more question. Is it normal when drinking alcohol to experience withdrawal like symptoms like sore throat, sneezing, sleepiness and weird thoughts? That happened twice and now Im concerned about drinking more than 1 glass of wine lol

Thanks

• Moderator Emeritus

Hello Meowmeoww, welcome to SA!

I moved your topic to create an intro for you since you are new to us.  We always start with an intro for all new members.  This is your place to give your history, journal your progress, ask questions about your situation, and the like.  Bookmark this page so you can find it more easily.  By clicking "Follow" above, you will be notified of any responses to your thread.

We always ask members to fill out their signature block with their med history.  Please include all meds you are on, when you last tried to come off, with dates to the best of your knowledge.  Include all OTC and Rx meds.  Please put your withdrawal history in your signature

I am glad that you have already been educating yourself about tapering.  Here are the particulars for Zoloft:  Tips for tapering off Zoloft (sertraline)

Yes, liquid taper will be your best bet, and I am glad that your doctor is willing to prescribe it.