Bronx: New to Withdrawal - Effexor

Bronx

I have been on Effexor ER 150mg for several years. Consulted doctor about tapering off. He put me on 75 mg and told me to come back in a month. That was 4 days ago. I have begun having brain zaps, headache, dizziness and some anxiety.

I would appreciate any tips on how to recur these symptoms.

Do vitamin supplements work?

Should I take Xanax to minimize symptoms?

Thanks for your advice.

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Bronx, and welcome to SA,

You've arrived here just in time!!!

SA recommends a slow taper of 10% of your previous dose with a 4-6 week holding period to stabilise.  I discovered SA myself after attempting to drop from 100 mg to 50 mg (Pristiq) and suffered almost 3 weeks of very foggy head and got to the stage where I was having trouble typing (I am a professional typist so it was a good indication that something was not right).  After it being suggested that I increase my dose the withdrawal symptoms subsided within hours and after stabilising I then commenced tapering.

It would be helpful if you could Please put your Withdrawal History in Signature.  Please include ALL drugs, doses, dates and how you decreased/increased them.  Details from the last year and summary of anything prior to that will mean that your individual situation can be considered when making suggestions.

Because it is only 4 days since you dropped your dose by 50%, you may be able to go back to 150 mg, after which you would stabilise and then start tapering.  However, you may find that 100 mg may be enough to reduce the withdrawal symptoms.  One of the more knowledgeable mods will hopefully drop in and offer their thoughts on dosage.

Here is some information about tapering:

Why taper by 10% of my dosage?

Introduction to AD Withdrawal Syndrome

And this is some information on reinstating (in your case it would be updosing) which might help too:

About reinstating and stabilizing to reduce withdrawal symptoms