Rosemary: Lexapro Withdrawal

Rosemary

Hi all,
This is my first time ever on a forum so please be patient with me.

13 years ago I was diagnosed with PTSD and OCD and put on Luvox, which I took for 6 years until it started to not work. Docs then switched me to Lexapro when I became severely depressed, and then when that started losing efficiency at the end of last year they added Valdoxan. I have also been through inpatient treatments, CBT,ACT,DBT and have also tried TMS (didn't work).

I finally decided in May this year that I wanted to be AD free so started to taper the Lexapro, went from 20mgs to 10(got a slew of side effects) and then after 6 weeks went from 10 to 5 (no side effects) and then 5mg every other day and then finally at the end of August came off the Lexapro (still taking Valdoxan but it's not an SSRI).

The first two weeks were fine, no physical side effects just feeling a bit anxious, however the last two weeks and in particular the last 5 days have easily been the worst in my life. extreme anixety, ocd rituals, crying non stop, no appetite, insomnia, agoraphobia, anhedonia. just no will to do anything. also very snappy at everyone, no patience, very irritable and short tempered.

prior to coming off the meds I was calm, peaceful, always the nicest person in the room, non confrontational, positive and happy. even though the meds made me numb I was able to live somewhat a normal life.

do you think this is a relapse of whatever I had 13 years ago? or is it just a normal adjustment for my brain going from high doses of SSRIs to nothing at all in a (relatively) short amount of time?

help please!! I don't know whether to go back on the drugs or what to do. I am at my wits end.

Thank you so much,
Rosemary

Edited by scallywag
tags added

2003-2009 Luvox (can't remember dosage)

2009-2016 Lexapro 20mg

2015-current Valdoxan 50mg

Lexapro Withdrawal:

10mg June

5mg July

5mg every other day August

SSRI free since Aug23rd

• Moderator Emeritus