Lexaprouserover10: Lexapro tapering

Lexaprouserover10

I recently tapered down off 20 mg of Lexapro after 10+ years. I went on it when my husband was diagnosed with cancer. Had I known that the withdrawal was going to be like this I never would have gone on it!

I work as a physical therapist assistant so I've had to take 2 weeks off. Insomnia, balance issues, heart racing, anxiety, zapping, shaking, lack of concentration just to name a few of the symptoms. I feel like I'm through the worst of it after 2 weeks. I was given xanex to help but I didn't want to replace one medication for another.

According to everything I've read this isn't "withdrawls", it's discontinuation syndrome. I felt like an addict the whole time. Sweat was pouring off me! Unfortunately, I also have a rare neurological condition called hemiplegic migraines that occurred throughout the last few weeks causing me to have to use a cane most of the time. I remain jittery but I can sleep and hopefully can return to work next week.

Shame on the medical and pharmaceutical industries for not giving people the information they need prior to taking these meds!

Edited by scallywag
added paragraph breaks and tags
  • Moderator Emeritus

Lexaprouserover10 -- Welcome to Surviving Antidepressants (SA)

I've moved your post in Willpower's introduction topic to an introduction topic of your own.

Are you looking for assistance with your symptoms? If so, please post more about how you tapered from 20 mg over three months and please specify what your last dose of Lexapro was and when you it.

A request: Would you summarize your history in a signature -- drugs, doses, dates, and discontinuations & reinstatements, in the last 12-18 months particularly?

• Any drugs prior to that can just be listed with start and stop years.
  • You don't need to include symptoms or diagnoses other than the initial condition that led to prescribing the first drug.