Scire52: Celexa

Scire52

Hello, I have been dealing with anxiety for many years. After not finding anything that worked longterm. I decided to take my first ssri, 10 mg Celexa this weekend. The nausea and sleepiness has been so bad I want to stop after 2 days. It will be just too difficult to go to  work and function like this. I can barely get out of bed. Since I am new to ssri can someone let me know how to taper this off to reduce the sides? Like should I take 5 mg until the end of the week and stop?

Also would like to know once I get off the Celexa, I think I'll probably feel a bit low. How soon thereafter can I take vitamins and supplements like trytophan and st johns wort (would like to avoid serotonin syndrome).

Thanks!

• Moderator Emeritus

Scire -- Welcome to Surviving Antidepressants (SA)

Since you have been on 10 mg Celexa for only 2 days and have had strong adverse effects -- sleepiness, fatigue -- you can taper more rapidly than someone who has been on the medication for a month or more. 

You could either

• take ½ a tablet tomorrow and the day after that, then take a ¼ table for 2-3 days then stop altogether.
    -- or --
  • stop entirely right away,

Gradual reduction, i.e. #1 above, is less risky.

For your reference, here's our topic on Celexa with tapering tips for those who have taken it for longer. Although the slow tapering tips are likely not applicable in your situation, there is good information about the medication itself:
Tips for tapering off Celexa (citalopram)

Please let us know what you choose to do and how that goes for you.

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.
1997-1999 Effexor; 2002-2005 Effexor XR 37.5 mg linear taper, dropping same #beads/week with bad results

Cymbalta 60 mg 2012 - 2015; 2016: 20 mg to 7 mg exact doses and dates in this post; 2017: 6.3 mg to  0.0 mg  Aug. 12; details here

scallywag's Introduction