SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

LCAirPasta: Just need some encouragement/positivity

LCAirPasta

Hey guys, I've actually read this website a lot in the past year but never actually joined. I decided today would be a good as day as any. I have a question that I think everyone here has probably asked before- am I gonna be ok?

Here's my situation (stick with me, it's a long story).

I'm turning 23 next month, and throughout high school I never dealt with much anxiety aside from two or three panic attacks brought on by smoking weed. I didn't know what they were at the time so I chalked it up to bad drugs or whatever.

Anyway, after I graduated in 2012 I started experimenting with different drugs in college and I ended up having what I think was a really bad acid trip, or even perhaps serotonin syndrome, in April of 2013. I took a few tabs and immediately had a horrible reaction that ended with me blacking out on the floor and waking up with a few minor scrapes and bruises. i was pretty much fine for about 2 or 3 months after that, but in August I started having weird visuals and light headedness. I also had some panic attacks, which had never happened sober before.

Thinking the bad trip had messed me up, I went to the doctor with my symptoms and was diagnosed with anxiety disorder and panic attacks. Looking back on it I'm sure the bad trip didn't help but since I was ok for a few months after and my anxiety symptoms didn't really surface until August, i don't think the bad trip necessarily caused my anxiety. It probably would have happened either way.

Anyway, I was prescribed citalopram and it worked amazing for 2.5 years. I had minimal anxiety and panic attacks. However, I gained about 60 pounds and had some sexual side effects (without getting too graphic). Thinking the medicine was causing the weight gain, I went to a new doctor and was prescribed pristiq.