KayPedia: Just tapered off of sertraline, Wellbutrin

KayPedia

I was diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder in 2002. Since then, I've been essentially maxed-out on my Wellbutrin dose (450 mg/day) and have had some supplemental SSRI treatment with Prozac, Zoloft and other psychotropic meds like Lamictal, Ambien, and Provigil (guess who was working a night shift!)

I decided to cut off the Zoloft (which was supposed to help with severe PMS) after a pretty acute manic episode in December that scared the hell out of me. I realized that I'd just had medication thrown at me for 15 years, since I was a sophomore in college. I'd always trusted the "adults" who told me I should take the meds - but should SAD be treated with such a heavy hand? It seemed like I was being grossly overmedicated.

Of course, I take some responsibility for this. I've moved from place to place during the past 15 years and haven't maintained good continuity of care between providers. This means that my health info largely fell through the cracks - and it led to physicians simply carrying on with the initial diagnosis and prescription, which became woefully outdated. Piling on more and more psychotropic medication didn't help.

Now, I'm done tapering off of sertraline, though it's been a painful process. I've decided to stop taking the Wellbutrin to see what I'm like off of the drugs. So far, after about a month, I'm making good progress. I feel more focused, clear-headed, and generally happier with the help of a proficient counselor. Looking forward to using this support network.

Wellbutrin XL 450 mg/day from 2002 - Feb. 2017

Zoloft 2016 - Feb. 2017

Prozac 2010 - 2012

Lamictal 2008 (?)

Provigil 2008

Ambien 2007 - 2009

Health issues including pulmonary embolism in 2016 - undiagnosed genetic clotting disorder combined with birth control. PCOS and hormonal imbalance leading to underlying health problems categorized as "depression."

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome Kay,