camomille: Need help please

camomille

Hi, I am feeling rather desperate with increasing symtoms. Here goes:

I have been microtapering Valium since 2012 without major problems. Also on Sertralin 25 mg since 2007. In september 2016 I accidentely missed a dose Valium, 0,30 mg and went into withdrawal. Continued microtaper (tital 0,03mg) until Feb 2017. Was symptomatic. Then started new batch Sertralin (same dose 25 mg) and the day after developed new symtoms - very dry burning mouth, dizzieness, derealisation. New symtoms for me. Called manufacturer who confirmed that new batch was 1% more potent.

Waited two weeks for stabilisation which did not happen. Developed nightly panicattacks and agitation. Decreased Sertalin 1%. Better for one week. Now increasingly more severe symtoms by the day with occasional windows.

What is happening? What should I do?

Thanks for you advice.

2007 Sertralin 50 mg Oxasepam 5 mg

2008 Sertralin 25 mg Valium 2mg

2012 Started Valium taper Sertralin 25 mg

2012 Valium 1 mg Sertralin 25 mg

2017 Valium 0,60 mg Sertralin 25 mg

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome Camomille,

I'm sorry you have run into some difficulties with your taper, but you have come to the right place for help.

It would be great if you would put your drug and withdrawal history in your signature. Doing this helps people understand your context, it appears below each of your posts. Here are instructions for how to do it:

Please put your withdrawal history in your signature

It sounds to me like you are having an adverse reaction to the new batch of Sertralin. Am I right in assuming this is Sertraline, the generic version of Zoloft?

Are you taking any other medications?

Perhaps you might consider holding your Valium taper for now, and continue tapering Sertralin. Because you had some initial improvement when you decreased the dose, perhaps you would do better with a slightly lower dose.