☼ PennyLane26: Need advice-Paxil Withdrawal

PennyLane26

Link to Penny's success story:  PennyLane26 Success Story- Protracted Paxil Withdrawal

Hi all- 

I am new to this site and would like some advice. Here is the deal;  I have been weaning off of 15 mg Paxil slowly since January 2016. Before that I was on it (off once 4 months ) for approximately three years.   I had been supplementing with five 5 HTP and it helped me get down to 5 mg. Like an idiot, I took way too much and gave myself serotonin syndrome.  I was then instructed by my doctor to stop all supplementation as well as the 5 MG of Paxil . This is when withdrawal hit. I was then prescribed 5 mg of Ambien as I was having severe insomnia.   I reinstated 1 mg of Paxil in April to stabilize, and it helped somwhat. I have been doing pretty well up until now as I was getting sleep. Sleep is my biggest issue right now I do feel I cannot cope without it.

Now the Ambien seems to not be working as effectively and I am having increased anxiety, severe  depression and no motivation.  I really want to get off the Ambien and I am contemplating reinstating even more Paxil to stabilize.

If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it! 

Edited by ChessieCat
added link

-Started 15 mg Paxil in May of 2013

-Tapered completely off Paxil May of 2014

-Went back on Paxil 10 mg end of September 2014

-Increased to 15 mg of Paxil mid September 2015

- Started weaning off of Paxil January 2016 at approximately 10% and started supplementation of 5htp. 

-End of February 2017, experienced serotonin syndrome quit Paxil and 5htp completely. Prescribed 5 mg of Ambien.

-Mid April 2017, reinstated 1 mg of Paxil

-October 2017, weaned off of Ambien

-November 27, 2017 weaned completely off of Paxil

Psych med free since 11/27/17

• scallywag changed the title to PennyLane26: Need advice-Paxil Withdrawl
  • Moderator Emeritus

PennyLane -- Welcome to Surviving Antidepressants (SA)