SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Ghstwrtr: SNRI discontinuation venlafaxine (generic Effexor)

Ghstwrtr

First and foremost I 'm not a great forum participator.  Regardless I recently completed a 111 day taper of Venlafaxine that has been successful and I wanted to share my experiences. 

Some back story (possibly a little more at a later date but as I said I'm not a prolific poster); I was on 225mg Venlafaxine ER once daily for 5 years.  I had fallen into a major depression and after numerous trials of different AD’s we got to Venlafaxine and it seemed to be accountable with pulling me out of the hellish depths of major depression.

Late last fall my wife pointed out to me that my depression had crept back into our lives again.   I went to my GP in December and he prescribed 150mg of generic Wellbutrin once daily.  Within weeks I was once again on steady ground.  On my next follow up with my GP we discussed that it appeared that the Venlafaxine had pooped out on me and the onset of SAD was our agreed upon diagnosis. 

It seriously concerned me that I was now on an AD stack and something needed to change.  Motivated by this situation I began a deep dive study into SNRI discontinuation methods/protocols, how to recognize discontinuation symptoms from a relapse, recorded clinical trial Venlafaxine side effects, Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, neurotropics, vitamins etc. etc. etc. I had a huge laugh at the "clinical trial" data suggesting to reduce the daily dose by 75mg at 1 week intervals.  Geez how irresponsible on the part of the manufacturers and the FDA!