Vince: taking citalopram

Vince

Hi everyone,

I've been taking Citalopram for anxiety and depression for a few weeks. My therapist diagnosed me with GAD. It has worked well in regards to my mood and my heart palpitations/panic attacks from my anxiety but I'm unable to fall asleep at night without taking Lorazepam. I've read that Citalopram can give some people hypomania which I'm experiencing. It's manageable during the day but it's making it impossible for me to sleep at night without Lorazepam which I know shouldn't be used long term. I would like to transition to Mirtazapine at night to replace the Lorazepam (I take my Citalopram in the morning). I may have to wean off the Citalopram too because I'm not sure if my doctor will approve me taking both Cit and Mirt. My question is how do you cut such a small pill into tenths so I can wean off using this 10% method? Or does this only apply to liquid forms of the meds? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm pretty new to all this. Thanks.

• Administrator

Welcome, Vince.

I moved your post here to start your Introductions topic, where you can post questions specific to your situation and updates on your progress. Please follow or bookmark this topic so you can find the responses.

In your case, it looks like the dosage of citalopram you're taking is too high for you. It is bad medicine for doctors to prescribe other drugs for side effects of the first drug.

What is the dosage of each of your drugs and when do you take them?

To reduce citalopram, please see Tips for tapering off Celexa (citalopram)

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.

• ChessieCat changed the title to Vince: taking citalopram
  • Moderator Emeritus

Welcome from me too, Vince,