wynninio: Paxil advice

wynninio

Hello everyone,

Glad to find this forum as I have been lost without advice and the GP is clueless. I am also a health care professional myself. So I was started on Seroxat/Paxil in 2001( 20mg ) and have been on it for over 16 years. Altering doses but hovered around 10mg on the liquid form for majority.

I then decided this year to taper and went too fast. I went from 10mg to 2mg in around 4 months. I then kind of crashed only a few weeks ago. I then upped my dose to 8mg and have been on that dose for 5 weeks. I still feel crap and all the initial ssri side effects of when I originally started. Horrific. 

My question is how long do I wait at 8mg to feel better or at least balance? My plan is to wait until week 8 and if no improvement up my dose to 12mg but its taking me in the wrong direction. I want to come off this drug.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated?? :rolleyes:

Edited by baroquep

Paxil/ Seroxat since 2001 (16 years) 

10mg since 2010

Tapered from 10mg February 2017 to 2mg until August 2017 (crashed)

Currently on 8mg

• ChessieCat changed the title to wynninio: Seroxat/Paxil advice
  • Administrator

Welcome, wynninio.

How has your symptom pattern changed since you increased to 8mg Paxll? What are the "initial ssri side effects" you feel? When do they occur relative to when you take Paxil each day?

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.

Thanks for your reply.