SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

robcbar1: Suffering after 20 years of SSRI

robcbar1

Please pardon any grammatical issues as I have a hard time sorting my thoughts and typing these days. 

My story starts with the death of my father on my 1st day of college in 1995.  I took a few weeks off, and upon returning, experienced tension headaches, loss of appetite, difficulty concentrating,  nervousness, etc.  I was told to see a doctor so I did.  He diagnosed me with an "anxiety disorder" and prescribed an SSRI (Paxil).  I was only 18 and naïve to doctors, so I did what I was told.  The medicine helped me immensely and I thrived for almost 20 years - built a successful career, met my wife, started a family, and maintained healthy relationships.  During that time, I graduated from Paxil to Zoloft and finally to Lexapro. 

Life was good...UNTIL a traumatic event with my 2 yr. old son in August 2015 (discovery of a severe tree nut allergy – anaphylaxis/911/ER/etc.).  Shortly thereafter, while still taking Lexapro, my world was turned upside down when I awoke one morning and had my first major panic attack.  Since then, I’ve been suffering from constant severe derealization, anxiety, panic, mood instability, anger, irritability, confusion, and depression.  I fell into this abyss seemingly overnight and I've been there ever since. 

I've been highly proactive in seeking treatment including 2 primary care doctors, blood labs, MRI, EEG, 3 psychiatrists, endocrinology, CBT, hospital outpatient program for anxiety, weekly psychotherapy, supplements, acupuncture, reflexology, and medication without any real answers or relief.