0wen: Hello! Citalopram

0wen

Hello!  I'm glad I found this site as it has provided me with an excellent amount of information to use when[ever] the tapering process will start.

I'm new to SSRI's [3 months on 10mg Citalopram].  I started taking it because my anxiety escalated from an auto accident [I turned a bit too sharp and ran over a center divider].  The anxieties [mainly work related] I had which prompted me to see the doctor were resolved within the 1st couple of weeks.  However, other core anxieties I had prior to taking the med weren't being controlled very well - which at this point I'm not sure if it was the med or that my brain needed time to re calibrate it's response to anxiety.

3 months into taking the med, I can say that my core anxieties are under control again [reading the Dare Response was an immense help with this].

The only anxieties I have now are directly related to the side effects of the med - slight dizzy spells, light headed, and something that appeared at about the 2 month mark - elevated Tinnitus.  I'm not sure if it's because of the med, because of where I work [elevated high pitched noises] or both [the med has increased my sensitivity to high pitched sounds.]  It's so far an annoyance that I only noticed when it's quiet..but I fear it may now be permanent if I take the drug for too long [and this is a huge motivator to stop taking the med!]