Merry: tapering for years and now stuck

merry

Hi all,

I have been tapering zoloft for nearly 4 years now and it has been somewhat straightforward up until now, thanks to the excellent advice here and other on-line sites.  My  tapering schedule has been the smallest amount I can easily measure (so now I do 0.2 g or 0.01 ml) and wait until I'm stable, then wait a bit more.  I've still had nearly every WD symptom but they have generally mild enough so I can mostly function and generally go away after a week or so.  Until....

Last summer I reached 9 mg and the WD symptoms (gut/sleep) were so bad and hung on for a month.  Then I found an "alternative psychiatrist" who gave some supplements that relieved some symptoms but kept pushing things that I kept reacting badly to.  So I stopped taking all supplements but continued to slowly taper after I felt better.

On January 1, I hit 7 mg and haven't been stable since.  I tried to take the previous supplements, but I think they made things worse.  I seem to react badly to everything--keep getting stomach pains from all sorts of foods; I am afraid to eat sometimes.  I've been getting only a few hours of sleep a night and it has been miserable.

Sorry for the pity party--I really don't know what to do.  Right now I'm holding at 7 mg and slowly trying one supplement at a time to see what works.  But ultimately, even if I do get through this horrific time, I'm not sure it's worth tapering again.  On the other hand...ugh!  I just want to be free of this drug!  I also worry if there would come a time when I would have to CT for some reason; being at a lower dose would reduce the risks in that case.

I am very upset with psychiatry and worried for my future.

January 2014 Zoloft 150 mg

May 2014 Started tapering

January 2015  Zoloft 54 mg

January 2016 18 mg

January 2017 12 mg

January 2018 7 mg CRASH! 

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Merry,