gibbo

gibbo

Hi

I was prescribed citalopram for anxiety as I was a shift electrician and as I could not sleep I was getting anxious and irritable due to lack of sleep. Then many years later my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer which thankfully she survived and I changed my job. I then started to feel strange , I took my 10mgs of Citalopram without fail, but I was feeling rough. I went to the doctors and was advised to stop as it is just a small dose. Within 4 months I was a mess I lost 3st in weight and I just lost the plot. My doctor then put me on Sertraline, which I could not get on with. So I went back on Citalopram I then started to reduce from 10mgs to 0 over 8 months. I have now been off Citalopram for nearly 7 months. I have the following issues constant ringing in my ears, a pain around my forehead and nose, chills and a runny nose and low mood. I have never suffered with depression prior to taking SSRIs. Will this feeling ever go? I would never ever have touched this medication if I known that I would have ended up feeling like this. I also get cold hands and feet. All my doc wants to do is give me another SSRI Prozac I have declined this. Anybody else had this type of withdrawal. I do apologise as I am new to this site and I just trying to find my way around. Any help would be appreciated. One thing that does concern me is in my present post there are a lot of people men and women who take these tablets and swear by them.

Started citalopram 10mg September 2000 - Jan 2013 just stopped on docs advice. Result horrendous time. Restarted citalopram 10mg July 2013 then October switched to Sertraline 50mg stopped over six months tapered properly. Then crashed again so back on citalopram 10mg tapered off stopped August 2017. Seven months off need advice 

• Moderator Emeritus

Hello, Gibbo, and welcome to SA.  I've moved your post to the Introductions and Updates forum, where more people will see it.