Brainmaker: Intro

Brainmaker

I'm a 62 y/o woman who has successfully beaten breast cancer -- twice. Treatment was 12 years apart. After second treatment, oncologist wanted me on 10 years of aromatase inhibitors. After Femara wrecked me, switched to tamoxifen. Both cause hot flashes for which she recommended Effexor, announcing "It's what I take!" I'm a heavy researcher and did look into Effexor, but like so many people, I thought I'd be fine. I did not look into withdrawal, because I had no idea there could be such an issue. Even on the "light" dose of 75 mg for about 18 months, withdrawal is indeed a jungle full of tiger traps. My life's research has been mainly brain science, so many aspects of this process are familiar to me. I am livid about the whole catastrophe that has befallen millions of us and the incredibly persistent blindness of doctors to the situation. Even though I get angry every day as I continue my research, I know that one of the best things I can do is focus on the good things in life (there are many), and be patient with myself, let my close friends and family know what this is doing to me (so they aren't scared to death!) and walk the path. There is one thing that I will say is a bright side to this. The attention on all the things that support a healthy brain will eventually win out  -- I believe that -- and I will have "rebooted" my daily routine in the direction I most deeply desire. I want to live strong and healthy, with the good brain I know is still in there, and that's what I intend to do. I'm very appreciative of the existence of groups like this and hope to learn more from everyone's stories. 

• Femara Nov 2015 for post cancer treatment
  • Ativan one-quarter of 1 mg occas. at night
  • Effexor 75 mg March 2016 to counter hot flashes from Femara
  • Femara stopped Aug 2016 due to body pain
  • Tamoxifen prescribed Jan 2017 to replace Femara (I refuse to take it)
  • Effexor taper began Dec 2017, half dose = WD symptoms intolerable