civilwar142pa: Four months off Lexapro

civilwar142pa

This is my first time posting in a forum because my psychiatrist told me three months is generally the end of withdrawal symptoms, especially when you were on a low dose like I was. Yet I'm still having bad symptoms. I was on Lexapro for about 15 months at 5mg with one month trying 10mg only to drop back down because of bad side effects. 

Now after nearly four months off the main thing I have is severe anxiety around my period. Two-three days before and lasting through the week after. I get shaky, anxious, panicky, have pressure and pain in my head and face, sore throat. 

Is this a normal reaction? It seems extreme for four months off of only 5mg, but since I couldn't up to 10mg maybe I'm more sensitive to this type of med? 

I know this can't last forever but it's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel when I'm literally incapacitated for almost two weeks per month. 

Lexapro 10mg samples prescribed by GP for anxiety late 2016. Stopped after a few days because of severe digestive symptoms, dizziness, increased anxiety. 

Prescribed 5mg Lexapro in January 2017 

March 31 started 7.5mg Lexapro

April 17 started Lexapro 10mg

April 25th back to lex 7.5 mg because of dizziness, increased anxiety, digestive issues

Approx. 2 weeks later went to 5mg Lexapro

February 26 2018 dropped to 2.5 Lexapro 

March 19 stopped Lexapro completely 

• ChessieCat changed the title to civilwar142pa: Four months off Lexapro
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hello, civilwar, and welcome to SA.

Anxiety is a very common withdrawal symptom after a too-fast taper.  We recommend a taper no fast that 10% of current dose every four weeks.

Doctors know very little about antidepressant withdrawal, and withdrawal can last quite a bit longer than three months.  Unfortunately, no one can say how long.  Lexapro is a very strong antidepressant, and 5 mg, while lower than what many are prescribed, is still quite powerful.