FantastiqueNeuroplastique: introduction ... sertraline and L-methionine

FantastiqueNeuroplastique

Hello everyone,

Thank you for accepting me into this peer support group!  I discovered SA a few weeks ago and have read many compelling and informative threads. I feel like I truly understand my situation now.  Thank you to all!

Discovering in my late-20s that ‘adult ADD’ was the cause of my anxiety and impulsivity, I tried Ritalin, wellbutrin, paxil and finally 50 mg of zoloft.  I found that SSRI’s really focused me and reduced my anxiety.  I was on Zoloft from 2004 to 2013 and tapered myself off the drug over the course of a year.  I experienced the usual acute symptoms over the next month or so but then I seemed to recover.

Roughly 4 months later I began experiencing severe prolonged AD withdrawal symptoms and ended up essentially house-bound with insomnia, high anxiety, OCD symptoms…I eventually lost 30 pounds.  I was a professional musician at the time performing a rock opera and had to cancel all remaining shows.  It essentially ended my career as a performing musician.  A nurse practitioner at the time urged me to begin taking Zoloft again and in July of 2013, I was prescribed 50mgs.  

Eventually my symptoms subsided and I went back to school in 2014.  One of the WD symptoms that remained with me was a case of body dysmorphia, which became manageable due to cognitive behavioral therapy.

In 2015, I read “Nutrient Power” by William Walsh and discovered the joys of methylation and L-methionine, which I added to my decreased dose of Zoloft (35mg from 50mg). The side effects of taking both were increased dry mouth/lips etc along with increased water retention.  But I noticed that I was much sharper and even more relaxed socially.