Mumma: Withdrawal from Saphris

Mumma

Hi, I’m new to this page. I’m currently going through an awful withdrawal from Saphris. I’m hoping to share my story to help others but I’d really love to hear from anyone who has successfully come off Saphris and have their life back! How long did your withdrawal take? Some days I lose hope that withdrawal symptoms will improve. 

I was taking 5mg Saphris daily for 12mths, for suspected bipolar 2 (rapidly cycling mood disorder post natal). With the support of my psychiatrist I tapered off a quarter of a 5mg tab at a time, every 10-14 days. In hindsight I realise I could have tapered more slowly. I took my last dose 3 months ago. I know my symptoms are from withdrawal as they are completely different to the original symptoms I had prior to starting Saphris. I now have extreme anxiety, and a panic feeling. Decision making is so hard, and I’m panicked about everything. I find it hard to sleep properly, or to get back to sleep once I wake up during the night. But no more cycling mood disorder which is great! I’m seeing a psychologist to talk, a naturopath is helping to give me dietary, supplement and herbal support (which I’ve found to be very helpful!) and now I’m hoping to hear from anyone who has been through this process and come out the other side. Thank you so much!

After the birth of my second child I became highly anxious, and cycled between being suicidal, and very energised. 

- GP prescribed citalopram, which I took for 12mths. 

I still felt sometimes terrible and sometimes very energised. Went to psychiatrist, who recommended a wash out (no meds for two months) for diagnostic purposes. I was at my worst. Anxious, suicidal every few days, with days of high energy in between. Diagnosed bipolar 2, rapidly cycling mood disorder plus anxiety. 

- started on 5mg Saphris (Asenapine, an AP) 

- few weeks later started on 20mg fluoxetine also.