Laurenjade08: mirtazapine withdrawal?

Laurenjade08

Hello

This is my first time on any proper medication.

I was placed onto this medication due to failed attempts on SSRIs, and due to constant stomach pain with no relief.

Anyway, I was placed on 15mg of mirt 9 1/2 weeks ago, I tried upping to 22.5mg 2 weeks ago, and dropped back down to 15mg 5 nights ago now.

For the last two days I have been suffering with very bad nausea, day 4 I had a bout of diarreah but today still constant nausea. Does anyone know if this is likely to be nausea due to dropping dose? I’ve only been on a short time and would like to come off... what do you suggest? Do I wait to stabilise and drop 10% a month? 

Amitriptyline 2010 (1 month), Sertraline (4 days), Fluoxetine Nov 18 (24 days).

Mirtazapine Dec 18 - April 19 - start 15mg, increase 22.5mg within 3 months. 

Mirtazapine April 2019 tapered SLOW until July 2020 - Hit withdrawal wall at 10mg

December 2020 updosed to 37.5mg (SEVERE symptoms) Jan to July, back to 22.5mg. 

Severe anxiety, bed bound, weight loss, SI

April 22 - introduced Venlafaxine 37.5mg.
Mirtazapine 22.5mg to 3.75mg (April to dec 22) - some withdrawal symptoms, increased to 75mg Ven.

3.75mg - 0mg mirtazapine 30th Dec 22.. holding 

• ChessieCat changed the title to Laurenjade08: mirtazapine withdrawal?
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi Laurenjade and welcome to SA,

Thank you for creating your drug signature.

You mention that you have been on other SSRIs.  Please add this information to your drug signature.  We need it nice and simple so we can see the basic information at a glance.

Please create your drug signature using the following format.   Keep it simple.  NO diagnoses or symptoms please - thank you.

• details for last 2 years - dates, ALL drugs, doses
  • summary for older than 2 years - just years and drug/s

Account Settings – Create or Edit a signature

as an example:

Drug name:  date, dose; date, dose; date, dose;