Johnb: 20+ years on Paxil now tapering

Johnb

Hello and big hugs to all of you fighters. I have been reading this forum for the last years but newer written anything before. I will not write my full life story but my background is that I developed social phobia in my late teens  and where put on ssri 1995, first year I do not remember which make but where prescribed Paxil shortly after and have been on them since 1996. They worked but not completly so after a move back to my home town after University a new doctor also gave me Xanax which of course helped more but led to an addiction. 2004 after several years I got help and managed to quit Xanax where put on Mirtazapine for troubble sleeping and managed to quit them quite easily after 6 months or so.

This is where I made the huge misstake of beliving that if I could quit Xanax although tough and Mirtazapine I could do the same with Paxil so in 2015 I did a 1 month taper from 20 mg to zero. I battled withdrawal for roughly 3 month thinking it would ease of but keept getting worse so I reinstated to full 20 mg. This is where i began reading this forum and understood that I need to stabilize before making a new attempt. So in May 2016 i started taper from 20 mg to 17,5, 15, 12,5 and where down to 10mg in spring 2017 when I belived a combination of for me to fast taper and trobble at work led to an depression.

I hold on 10 mg until depression had ended and even more humble I continued taper when i felt stable in November 2017 but now at a much slower pace around 3-4% every second week.