LIN22: 11 Years on Venlor (Venlafaxine), Tappered of 3 months, 6 weeks off Venlor

LIN22

Hi, I am new to talking about my story with Venlor.  I was prescribed Venlor by a GP for anxiety and panic attacks 11 years ago.    Venlor made me feel tired, brain fog, dizzy, memory problems, anxiety,,, so I decided to wean myself of.  I am now 6 weeks off Venlor.  Had crying spells, anxiety, night sweats while weaning of it.  Started  to excersize and eating healthier.  Still feel very emotional and getting anxiety attacks.  Still struggling with brain fog and sometimes feel I am off balance. Is there anybody that is going through the same things?

Venlor 75mg 10 years ,1 year 37.5mg.Tappered of taking 37.5mg every second day for 4 weeks, then every third day for 2 weeks, then every fouth day for 2 weeks.Then stopped completely.Last dose was on 10 Feb 2019.

• Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, LIN22.

To give members the best information, we ask them to summarize their medication history in a signature -- drugs, doses, dates, and discontinuations & reinstatements, in the last 12-24 months particularly.  Please include how fast you tapered and the date of your last dose on Venlafaxine (known in the U.S. as Effexor).    Please go to this link to create your signature.

The symptoms you are experiencing are withdrawal symptoms from tapering too fast.  We recommend tapering no more than 10% of current dose every four weeks.

To help you understand the symptoms you are experiencing, here is some information on withdrawal.  

When we take medications, the CNS (central nervous system) responds by making changes over the months and years we take the drug(s). When the medication is discontinued, the CNS has to undo all the changes it made. Rebuilding the neurotransmitter production and reactivating the receptor and transporter cells takes time -- during that rebuilding process symptoms occur.