WantToBeMe: struggling

WantToBeMe

A little introduction.  I work in the IT industry, and am currently in-between jobs.  Thought it would be a good time to wean myself from all my meds since I have always believed that I need my “cocktail of drug”  to function in my job.  At least that’s the story I  have always told myself.  Also, without a job, medical expenses are killing me.  My drugs are very expensive!  But I guess the main reason I am withdrawing from these drugs is to try to see what my baseline is at least and start from there. I don’t like the feeling of being on drugs for life.  I want to see the real me... warts and all.

It’s been a struggle, to say the least.

The med that I need the most when working is Vyvance, for ADHD.  Without this med, I can’t seem to concentrate enough to do the detail work needed for my data analysis job.  Stopping this drug is not a problem, as my main symptom being off the drug was my original reason for taking this drug... serious lack of direction and focus.  Boy do I have that.  Can spend the whole day in bed.

The other drugs that I am withdrawing from are Cymbalta and Ambien.  Ambien took a good week or so of withdrawal to be able to sleep on my own again.  It’s was a very rough week.  But my sleeping and wake-up experiences are very different since I’m not taking the drug every night.  I took it for YEARS.  Not sure it’s better or worse, just different. 

The Cymbalta withdrawal is bad too.   I am feeling very depressed since I have been off.  Feel my life is meaningless.  That I am a terrible wife and mother.  That I do not like myself. I need to completely wean off to find out if it is because of withdrawal or truly just underlying depression.  I want to know.  It’s been several months since I have stopped taking Cymbalta.  

I’m glad I found this group... hello to all!   Please let me know if anyone has been though similar experiences ... and when (and if) you started to feel better.

• Moderator Emeritus