SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Herewegoagain: 5 week mark

Herewegoagain

Third time in my life I tried to come off Paxil.  First time was after 7 years....made it 16 weeks and then BAM - full blown panic attack.  Doctor said to go back on. 

Second time, was at around 12 years - They had a back up in manufacturing that scared me.  I withdrew again and 5 weeks later things got bad and not very functional - so after trying Lexapro and having a bad time with it, I went back on Paxil because it was being offered again. 

Third time I tried was at 23 years because yet another manufacturing glitch.  Withdrawal was easy this time....Very minimal effects and I took my time coming off my 10 mgs.  I hit the five week mark and bam - waves last night - still feeling anxious and now I don't know what to do.   They are manufacturing it again.  

My background is I'm very healthy and very calm and happy life (other than yesterday) due to a situation which caused the anxiety but now I am scared.   So, I guess I'm looking for advice from anyone who has made it passed the five week mark who may have some wisdom to share with me.

• Moderator Emeritus

Hello, Herewegoagain, and welcome to SA.

Are you currently taking Paxil?  If not, you may want to reinstate a very small dose which is the only known way to bring withdrawal symptoms under control.  We recommend starting with a very low dose, as your system is very sensitized from tapering and withdrawal.  You could start with 1mg and slowly increase if symptoms remain unbearable.  Please read:

About reinstating and stabilizing to reduce withdrawal symptoms. -- at least the first page of the topic

It takes about 4 days for a dose change to get to get to full state in the blood and a bit longer for it to register in the brain.