Cnick91

Wim Hof Method (Highly Recommended)

Cnick91

I have been following Wim Hof’s teachings since February and it has completely turned my life for the better. I no longer suffer from most symptoms I was experiencing after antidepressant discontinuation. I am more mentally fit than I think I have ever been in my life and I’m just getting started. The man behind the interview is Lewis Howes. I strongly recommend checking out some of his content. YouTube is a great resource for content, both informative and motivational, that you can use in your healing journey. 

Cnick91

Admin,

You may want to move this to the media section as it may be a better fit there. I originally posted here because the Wim Hof method is scientific at its core (Wim’s method is rewriting science books). The video attached is informative but not exactly scholarly or something you would find in a scientific journal.

goggins
Posted (edited)

I have been on SSRIs (20mg paroxetine) since 2008 (with a 2 year med-free gap, 2010-2012). This year I tried a tapering regime for about 6 months, reducing 5mg every 2 months. Withdrawal symptoms were extremely debilitating... I couldn't sleep, was on the border of panic attacks 24/7, and constant suicidal thoughts.

I went back to the 20mg baseline because I felt I wasn't really well informed, and now the plan is to follow the 10% rule and keep reading more stuff around here. I'm already on 18mg, feeling somewhat stable.

I started to practice the WHM consistently, although I haven't gone any further than an everyday breathwork + cold shower routine.

Just like anything else, moderation is key. I am witnessing huge progress though.

It does have a deep impact on the nervous system, and it helps me keep motivated, confident and strong during withdrawal hell. It connects me with my inner self, and the biology behind these deep feelings is the conscious activation of the limbic system.