Neuro loneliness - Is it iatrogenic or am I isolating?

Barbarannamated

Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere. I'm going down a dark hole.

I'm not sure if others feel this alone or isolated and if so, how do you handle it?

It's not unusual for me to go for weeks without human interaction aside from husband and those words are only what's absolutey necessary. Ive been fighting this isolation for many years prior to DCing. Lost my career in 2001 (injury/pain), have no kids and am estranged from family back east. I admit I have pushed friends away thru this.

Things went downhill dramatically when I returned to CA after a few months of aimless driving across the country. I can't explain it, but it somehow kept me going. When I returned to go to the ISEPP Conference and get some things taken care of, the only person who persisted and pushed to understand the 'craziness' of my life, (and did a very good job-better than any therapist) turned out to be stalking me online (I believe 'keeping watch over me under a pseudonym' or some similar wording was used).

(NOTE TO SELF: do not attempt to understand people w/180+ IQs. No offense meant to anyone here!)

I know I need different housing and to be where I have some interaction and support, but no idea where to go. I live in a rural area w/my horses. They're good for me; one seems to know when I'm bad and opens the sliding glass door and comes in house which got very ugly when he didn't get out in time once. :o

I've deteriorated in past few weeks and not sure I can be totally on own right now. Not doing well w/ADLs. Assisted Living? OMG--I'm 49! I used to be one of those super-achievers. Very independent and ok doing things on my own until recently. Why did I seem to lose my strength as soon as I wasn't totally alone?