BlankGeneration: irritatedly apathetic

BlankGeneration

36year old man. Married, no kids. I've been on SSRIs for 15 years now. I've been tapering off them for 5 years.  Effexor was what I took for depression, anxiety. From 2004-2014 I gradually took more and more until I got to a point where I couldn't be prescribed a higher dose (can't remember specific, will ask doctor). The plan was to get onto a different ssri, but I had to taper down to a lower dose before I could bridge with prozac.  The withdrawal was awful and the more I learned about psychotropic drugs the more I wanted off completely. I have strong feelings of worthlessness and shame. I'm embarrassed to look anyone in the eye. I've exercised, meditated, changed my diet, take supplements, see a therapist, i've established a support network, cbt, affirmations, rigid self care program. Still hate myself. Still get suicidal thoughts. I want to try life with no antidepressants. Maybe that's it. I think it's actually the drugs that are keeping my depression from lifting. I hope.

I've been aware of the forum for years and finally decided to post. I feel alone in this withdrawal from time to time. I haven't been to a support group in months. My phone never rings and I like it that way. I want to hide from everyone. I don't know anyone else quitting their meds. Feels like I'm losing my identity and I just don't care enough to build it back.

2004- Prescribed paxil, switched to effexor, gradually increased to a high dose over 10 years
2014- November began to taper off effexor
2015- March switched to Prozac
2016- May began taper down from 80mg Prozac
2017-Sept got to 40mg
2018- Aug- Got liquid prozac, beginning taper again

2018 dec- 26.24mg
2019 june- 19.13mg
2020 Jan- 10.17mg
2020 June- 6.67mg
2020 July- 7.41mg prozac
hold for covid
2021 June- 7.04mg prozac

Current supplements
fish oil 600mg
D3 75mcg
B12 7.5mg
Niacin 500mg
Magnesium

• ChessieCat changed the title to BlankGeneration: irritatedly apathetic