amygdala2015

amygdala2015

Hi All,  I started tapering 4 months ago after 23 years use of Zoloft and Ativan.  I was originally prescribed for depression/anxiety from post-partum depression.   But that year turned into many years as doctors then, as now, do not have an exit plan.  I didn't know at the time being on Psych meds might be a life sentence.  

I guess life, with it's intensity of being a single mom, working, etc etc. I was always scared to stop taking the meds.  When I brought it up and I did many times, the feedback from the Psychiatrists was basically, "proceed at your own risk".   That sufficiently scared me as I could not afford to have an experience like I did that got me on the Psych meds.   So, I stayed.

I have been weaning for 4 months.  I choose to start with Zoloft and then tackle Ativan.   I started with 125, went to 100, then to 75.  I realize now that I am going too fast, so I will now slow down to 10 percent every month to six weeks.   

Thank you,

75 Zoloft, down from 125

1.0 mg Ativan daily

• 2/2019 - 125 Zoloft, 1.5 mg Ativan
  • 6/2019 - 75 Zoloft 1.0 Ativan
  • 1995 to current -  Zoloft and Ativan
  • ChessieCat changed the title to amygdala2015
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi amygdala and welcome to SA,

I'm pleased to see that you have been tapering your Zoloft, even if you have been going a bit faster than SA's suggested taper rate.  However, you may find that you have been okay with the larger decreases because of the higher dose that you have been on.  This might help you to understand this:  Why taper paper: dose-occupancy curves

If you had tapered at 10% of current dose with 4 week holds (which allows your brain to adapt to not getting as much of the drug) it would have taken 5 months to get to about 75mg:

125  >  112.5  >  101.25  >  91.125  >  82.0125  >  73.81125

You might be experiencing some withdrawal symptoms which you haven't attributed to withdrawal.  See:

Dr Joseph Glenmullen's Withdrawal Symptoms