SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Dreamer92890: anyone else get brain zaps as often as I do?

Dreamer92890

I’ve been tapering off of Venlafaxine IR for about 6 months now. My dr put me on 40mg of Prozac to help with the withdrawal symptoms. But I feel like I get brain zaps anytime I’m sick, or I’m PMSing (sorry if it’s TMI for the guys). My primary doc recommended 5 HTP. She was very nonchalant about it “I take it every morning in my coffee”. So I thought hey I’ll try it. Then my psychiatrist just about had a heart attack when I mentioned that. I understand there’s a Chance of serotonin syndrome. But would that be in like HIGH doses? Im a nervous nelly so I took about 25mg of 5 HTP but only every couple of days. But I mean...I’m living in hell... if I don’t get rid of these brain zaps, then what the hell is the point? I can’t enjoy life when I’m dizzy all damn day. 

-Lexapro 20mg-2006

lost 75 pounds...started having adverse (withdrawal) symptoms from lexapro

-increased Lexapro to 25mg-2016

-switched to Venlafaxine XR-2017

-switched to Venlafaxine IR-2018

-started tapering off of Venlafaxine-2019

-added Prozac 20mg

March 2019- was on 37.5mg 2x/day and 30mg of Prozac. 

Currently on

40mg of Prozac; multi vitamin (2x day); 18.5mg of Venlafaxine (I try once a day or every other day, but it’s HELL); Vitamin D; rarely 5-HTP

• ChessieCat changed the title to Dreamer92890: anyone else get brain zaps as often as I do?