sunnysideup69

Working in Withdrawal

sunnysideup69

Dear mods, thank you for your time and energy, not sure if I'm posting this in the correct forum?

Hello survivors all :)

I'm curious about whether you've managed to keep your working life going for some or all of your withdrawal, and how you've coped in terms of dealing with WD symptoms at work.

I need to keep a working life going for financial reasons but have drastically cut back my hours. I am asking to cut a further day.

I find personally that work is good for helping me to at least feel some semblance of vaguely 'normal.' (I'm a primary school teacher, part time, and a counsellor, but have put the counselling totally on hold to cope with my own healing first.)

Luckily, my boss is really understanding, and I've been very open with him about what I've been going through. I'm 99 percent sure this won't have repercussions as he is a genuinely decent bloke. Because I was feeling panicky, I also had to be quite open with my line manager and various other people....in case of needing to take a step outside. I must admit I've been less comfortable about disclosing to certain people. 

How do you all cope with feeling WD symptoms at work? e.g. Do you have a quiet space where you can go if panicky? Really interested to know, thank you.

Armorall

I also teach. I teach middle school special education in the inner-city. It is a challenge. My admin also knows what is going on with me and has pared down my responsibilities. When I feel withdrawal symptoms, I usually put on meditation music for the kids. In the classes where I co-teach, I just step out of the room, go into the storage classroom and put my head down with the lights out. 

This has become harder to manage and I'm considering a leave of absence. I know staying at home can be toxic, too, too much rumination, but...well we will see. 

Superwoman