Kombucha - Not Safe in Withdrawal

UnfoldingSky

Hi folks,

I thought I'd best post about this as I don't think this is covered here...Last night on TV where I live they ran a news story detailing that kombucha contains alcohol and it can contain more alcohol than the public is being led to believe (store bought kombucha, homemade kombucha I believe often has more than what was being said was supposed to be the amount in mass produced kombucha.) Memory is not great but I think they said if left in heat, store bought kombucha can have as much as 7% alcohol.  There is now a push to have it labeled as an alcoholic beverage (was supposed to have less than I think 0.5% to not be labeled where I live, however, for those of us who had very severe reactions to psychiatric drugs and/or very severe withdrawal syndromes, even that much may not sit well with us.)  So please be careful with kombucha people!

I am not a medical professional and nothing I say is a medical opinion or meant to be medical advice, please seek a competent and trusted medical professional to consult for all medical decisions.

This is very interesting....I also stopped making water kefir because I was concerned about the same thing. Still drink milk kefir, homemade, occasionally. 

January 2008 to April 2015 Citalopram 20mg to 5mg, reducing in 50 per cent leaps. Jumped off at 5mg

March 2016 used MDMA triggered setback

April 2016 Citalopram 10mg October 2016 cut to 5mg, May 2017 cut to 2.5mg

May 2018 used MDMA triggered setback

June 2018 Citalopram 2.5mg up to 10mg, then back to 5mg

July/ August 2018 7.5mg, then 10mg

June 2019 updosed to 20mg Citalopram

August 2019 cold switch to Venlafaxine 75mg XR

Supplements; 1100mg fish oil daily; also 100mg Magnesium Glycinate. Tried Vagifem 10mcg from mid May 2021 to mid June 2021; caused depression, so stopped.

Oh dear, I didn't know that about water kefir...so many things to watch out for!