Valhalla: Healing from duloxetine

Valhalla

Hello, all,

I'm new to SA and so glad to join your community. Please bare with me as I navigate the site. 

I've included my med history in my signature. Hope I did that correctly. 

I've been duloxetine free since September 18, 2018 after using the drug for over a decade and lorazepam free since April 27, 2019 after using it for four months. I erroneously omitted the lorazepam usage in my med signature which I will correct and update.

Since being off both drugs, I've had morning cortisol spikes which slap me awake between 2:30-4:00am with dread, massive anxiety and sweating. Deep depression soon follows. 

I've noticed my seasonal affective disorder has returned. These are the same feelings and emotions I've had since childhood. It's been hell. Deep despair, hopelessness, suicidal ideation.

I'm currently taking 2000mg fish oil, 600mg magnesium glycinate and 6000mg vitamin D supplements and have been taking them since CT 20mg duloxetine in 9/2018. I realize now the CT was a mistake.

As I've been reading posts in the SA community, cortisol spikes in the very wee hours of the morning are common and suffered by many. I feel for all of us because these cortisol attacks are nothing but an ongoing nightmare. For myself, they have not lessened. 

My SAD coupled with the cortisol attacks are my regular cycle of my new life sans pharmaceutical drugs. It never changes- the mornings are the worst followed by minor improvements in the afternoon with the evenings bringing some reprieve of anxiety. Some evenings are better than others.

I've noticed since being rx free I've seem to have developed APSD- advanced phase sleep disorder. I become almost narcoleptic from 7-8:30 in the evening but jolt awake six hours later. My quality of sleep is poor as I have daytime sleepiness every day.