SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

flourishingme: lexapro, anxiety, and eating disorders

flourishingme

Hello! I'm new to the idea of prolonged/protracted withdrawal, but some stories here definitely resonate with me.

I was diagnosed with generalized anxiety and anorexia, and was pressured to start taking Prozac (10mg). After only 2 days, I experienced extreme anxiety and panic attacks. My doctor switched my prescription to Lexapro (10mg, then 20mg), which I continued to take for about 6 months. I was always averse to the idea of medication, and I was feeling better, so I tapered the Lexapro over 2 weeks. I felt some immediate withdrawal symptoms, but it was easy to cope. About 10 months after I stopped taking it, I started to experience even more depressive/anxiety symptoms than I ever had before that first Prozac pill. I know it could be worse, since I feel anxiety attacks starting to happen fairly regularly, but I am usually able to fight a full blown attack. I'm curious if this could be a result of the ADs and my quick taper. Just looking for some support and advice, and hoping that with patience and therapy I can recover from this.

Hi Flourishingme-- welcome to SA. Your post is going to get lost and overlooked here on this thread so it would be a really good idea to start a personal thread in the introduction forum.  That will become your personal journal for keeping records and asking questions.

From your brief description yes, it sounds like what our are experiencing has been caused by the too rapid taper you did several months ago.  Well done on being able to fight your way through the panic attacks, with practice it should become easier and with time the attacks should become milder.  There will be a lot of support and advice offered by both the staff and the other members, but again the best place for this to happen will be on a persona intro thread.

Brassmonkey

Edited by manymoretodays