SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Rob7: Coming off amitriptyline - is this even the right thing to do?

Rob7

Hi there. 

Im new to this and am posting cause im worries that im never going to get better.... Had chronic headaches star from out of the blue c3.5 years ago and have had lots of drugs and every therapy, holistic, Physco treatment going. Now, headaches are less of a problem, still there 95% of time, but have anxiety, depression, anger, extra sensitivity to sounds and movement, disassociation, hopelessness etc. This has / is ruining my life, and I pray it will go back to normal - soon!

For chronic headaches - amitriptyline - Started 10 Nov 2019 - 10mg up to 30mg. On that dose for 6 months, up until 10 days ago.

Helped a bit with head pain, but bad and constant anxiety, depression, disassociation, (particularly awful).

At the same time, for above symptoms, Escoltalpram 5mg - 10mg. Was on that from 1 Dec 2019 - mid Feb 2020 as it didn't help with anything.

Since start March, on Sertoline (100mg) and Quetiapine 25mg daily).

In the past I have been on Topirimate (had very bad side effects), Pregablin (helped a bit but stopped working) - all for chronic headaches.

Ive decided, alongside a new psychiatrists (all of which i think are pretty useless tbh, im on my 4th), to stop the amitriptyline because i think its that which has increased any anxiety, moods and denationalization. Although its very difficult to know as all the symptoms and side effects are the same! Over the last 10 days, ive gone from 30mg, to 20mg, to 15mg and last night stopped altogether.

I am now very worried about withdrawal, which seems to be all the same things i have already! So how is anyone supposed to get better, when no one can say whats what! I appreciate the complexities in all this.

I think im looking for some advice if ive tappered off too quickly, what to expect and how long it might last.