Dollshead: Citilopram and Galactorrhea (sorry guys)

Dollshead

Dollshead

Hey, I'm pretty new to this but just seeking some advice as I'm in a pretty strange situation. 

Around 3 weeks ago I started lactating (I'm not pregnant and I have never been pregnant) with really bad headaches. I've been rushed through for an MRI as they suspected I had a tumour on my Pituitary gland. Thankfully I don't- brilliant news! However, my prolactin hormone levels are rising. I'm currently being referred to an Endocrinologist but may have a wait a while with the current situation. 

Anyway, a doctor has said it could be a symptom of me taking Ciltilopram. But I have been on these tablets for 10 years. Has anyone else had these symptoms before and would it be likely to be my citilopram after all this time? 
he has suggested to stop taking it for 7 days and put me on something else ( a tablet from the Tryclic group) I'm terrified as I've never had a break or taken anything else.

Another doctor said it's a slim chance the symptoms are caused by citilopram with me being on it so long! I just don't know what to do and it's making me more anxious. 

Any help/advise would be massively appreciated. Thank you! 

Edited by Gridley
  • manymoretodays changed the title to Dollshead: Citilopram and Galactorrhea (sorry guys)
  • Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, Dollshead.

According to my Internet search, SSRI's are a possible cause of Galactorrhea.  So, yes, it is possible that this is the cause of your condition, even after all this time.  

What dosage of Citalopram are you taking?

We don't recommend  substituting a new drug to deal with side effects from another drug.  That puts you on what we call the drug merry-go-round, trying one thing then another basically guided by nothing except guesswork.  All these drugs are different and one drug doesn't substitute for another.  That switch could throw you into withdrawal which can be long-lasting and unpleasant. 

What is withdrawal syndrome.