aclb: Withdrawal symptoms from Sertraline - how do go next?

aclb

Hi, 

I've taken sertraline 50mg for approx 1,5 years due to a severe depression (suicidal), and with doctor's prescription started to withdraw a month ago. At the time being I was not fully aware of the tapering symptoms one might have, as I've never done it before and my doctor did not inform me. However, she prescribed 25mg for me to start with the next day (and therefore going from 50mg to 25 mg in one day) something I had 'physical' symptoms straight away from during the first week (head ache, dizziness, lack of balance etc). The mental symptoms have been sneaking up during these 4 weeks, now being emotionally labile, with great anxiety and depression-vibes combined with sudden high tops. According to by doctor's prescription I'm supposed to be at 0 mg tomorrow :) that does not feel very well. 

My question is how to go next - my aim still being to one day be fully free from my AD: should I go back to 50mg and withdraw the medicine controlled and by 10%? Or should I accept this altered mood at 25mg and step-by-step go from here down to 0mg?

Sorry if I'm writing in the wrong forum, I'm just eager for information and advice in my situation... 

Edited by Gridley
  • ChessieCat changed the title to aclb: Withdrawal symptoms from Sertraline - how do go next?
  • Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, aclb.  You are waiting in the right forum.

I have a few questions before I can make a recommendation about what to do next.  You can be drug-free but it has to be done slowly and carefully.

What is your current dosage?  Are you at zero? When was the last time you took 25mg?  Are you still alternating doses between 50 and 25?

Alternate day dosing is a terrible way to taper.  It causes the amount of the drug in your bloodstream to go up and down, battering your nervous system and making withdrawal worse.

You are experiencing withdrawal from the too-fast taper.

What is withdrawal syndrome.