peacewillcome: peacewillcome 's journal

peacewillcome

hello!

im so happy to have found this site. I guess i will introduce myself :)

i have been on Paxil for about 4 to 5 years now, taking a pretty low dose of 20 mg. I tried quitting about a year ago, my doctor was supportive but gave me no information about withdrawal and such. After two days with 10 mg I immediately went back. i thought it was my anxiety, not withdrawal. I am now quitting again. I reduced my dose to 10 mg and i have been on this for about 4 days. I am already getting bad symptoms. feeling depressed, tired, crying for no reason, emotional, intrusive thoughts, and anxiety. But honestly I am so determined to quit this time because I want to live a drug free life. I have been praying a lot as a coping method which helps. Here are a list of supplements i've been taking that help make my symptoms less severe (not saying you should do what i say at all, this is just what helped me. i'm not a doctor)  : Magnesium, Niacinamide, D3, Iodine, Ashwaganda, and herbal teas. 

Thank you for having me in this beautiful community, I hope to contribute to in some way.

peace will come

starting dose: Paxil 20 mg

current: paxil 10 mg

Edited by Gridley
  • Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to SA, peacewillcome.

You are tapering too fast and are experiencing withdrawal symptoms that will continue.  The supplements are not going to make them go away.   I know you want to get off the drug (we all do), but it has to be done slowly.  Since you've only been at 10mg for 4 days, I would go back up to 20mg and let your system stabilize from the jolt you have given it.  Then, once you've stabilized, you can begin a slow taper.  A slow taper is the fastest way to get off the drugs because you avoid the delays of reinstating and recovering from reinstating.

Once you're ready to taper, we recommend tapering no faster than 10% of your current dose every four weeks.

Why taper by 10% of my dosage?