SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

nimdornn: amitriptyline / Elavil withdrawals

nimdornn

Hello everyone, this is my first time ever really posting on a forum. I was prescribed elavil bout a year ago, for pain. I was never depressed or anxious until coming off of this medication. The hard part for me is that I do not see a lot of people post their experiences with this medication. At the high end I was taking 75mg then went to 50 then to 25 all of this went fine. Then when I started taking 12.5 and less things got very bad very fast. I was having panic attacks, crying spells, all the flu like symptoms and extreme vertigo. I have been off this drug for 7 weeks and it was hell at first but slowly getting better. But still to this day I am getting anxiety and depression spells almost daily.(although its not as bad and it doesn't tend to last very long.) I am at my wits end with this and was wondering if i should just give up and start taking it again or keep pushing though it.

Started taking Elavil around January of 2019. began tapering in may of 2020. from 25 to 0. went from 25mg to 50 to 75 a week apart from each other. went from 75 to 50, waited two weeks, then from 50 to 25 and stayed there for a few months. Tapered from 25 to 0 in month. Took Atavan 4 times during the withdrawals and have not taken it since.

July 1st 2020 last dose of elavil at 5mg.

• ChessieCat changed the title to REAL NAME enquiry sent: Amitriptyline withdrawals
  • Moderator Emeritus

Hi and welcome to SA,

So that we know exactly what drugs you have taken in the past and are currently taking, please create your drug signature.

Instructions:  Withdrawal History Signature

Account Settings – Create or Edit a signature

Once we have this information we will better able to offer suggestions.